Oblivious

Sometimes I wish I were more naive.

My upstairs neighbor rings my doorbell bleary-eyed. She warns me that she has family with small children visiting this weekend. If it’s too loud, just let her know. I hear several voices from the upstairs patio around midnight – none of them children.

I hear firecrackers in the distance. At least 12 of them. A few minutes later police sirens wail from a similar distance. Later, I hear helicopters circle.

I made concrete plans to spend time with a friend. Throughout the day, I turned down several offers to hang out, because, “I’m going out with my friend Ryan tonight” Unreachable by phone that evening. No response to texts. I drink in my apartment.

Alone.

Leave a Reply

